guest | Log Out

LIS 2004: Introduction to Internet Research

Description

August 2012. Includes Lesson 2 Images, omitted in previous version. LIS 2004, Introduction to Internet Research is a one-credit hour online course. The course focuses on methods of accessing information resources available through the Internet. Students will learn how to design effective search strategies, retrieve, evaluate, and cite Internet resources.

Author/Creator (Digital Rights Manager)

Meg Hawkins [Hawkins_Meg], Alexis Carlson , Shelly Schumcker, Ross Martin, Ingrid Purrenhage, Marjorie Young, Joanne Connell, Jenny Saxton , Laurie Hime, Frank Dowd, Eric Dillalogue, Diana Matthews, Connie Head , Jeremy Bullian

Author/Creator (Digital Rights Manager) Details

hawkinm@mccfl.edu, acarlson@irsc.edu, mudgetts@tcc.fl.edu, martinr@seminolestate.edu, purreni@phcc.edu, youngm@phcc.edu, ConnellJ@brevardcc.edu, jsaxton@mdc.edu, lhime@mdc.edu, fdowd@edison.edu, eric.dillalogue@fkcc.edu, diana.matthews@sfcollege.edu, chead@gulfcoast.edu, jbullian@hccfl.edu

Keywords

Internet, research, information literacy, Web, World Wide Web, search engines, searching, libraries, databases, LIS2004, LIS 2004, citations, evaluation

Language

en-US

Requirement Type

This is a course in HTML format. The textual and graphic content require a Web browser and/or a Course Management System for viewing. The videos not embedded require the appropriate player/plug-in for viewing.

Interactivity type

Active, Expositive

Learning resource type

Course

Educational context

Community College, Higher Education

Typical learning time

15:00:00

Has costs

No

Educational description

This is a complete course including readings, discussion questions, exercises, an exam, and a project. The entire course can be utilized by institutions offering LIS2004 as a 1 credit hour course. Components of the course could be utilized for information literacy modules.

ERIC Thesaurus Terms

Information Literacy, Information Skills, Internet

FL Statewide Course Numbers (Higher Ed)

LIS2004 - INTRODUCTION TO INTERNET RESEARCH

Rights statement

This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License. To view a copy of this license, visit http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/. You are free to copy, distribute and transmit this work and to adapt this work if you attribute authorship and use the work for non-commercial purposes. If you …

Installation Remarks

The course is in .zip format. The user will need to have a program to unzip the files. FYI: Most Course Management Systems support importing .zip files and should do so without issues. If problems do occur, please contact your IT staff and/or hawkinm@scf.edu

In this bundle

Name: LIS2004August2012(2).zip
Type: Archive
Size: 5.18 MB
Full screen

Add a comment

Rate this resource

Actions


About


Summary