LIS 1000: Introduction to Information Literacy

Description

LIS1000, Introduction to Information Literacy, contains learning objectives, rubrics, lesson plans, and assessments designed to teach and assess the necessary skills expected in a two-year Florida college student. Learning objectives were adapted from the Association of College and Research Libraries’ Information Literacy Standards for Higher Education. Students will be able to recognize a need for information, seek appropriate resources to locate information, develop effective search strategies to retrieve information, evaluate the information found, and use these resources ethically.

Author/Creator (Digital Rights Manager)

Denise English, Nance Lempinen-Leedy, Alexis Carlson, Pat Barbier, Christine Boatright, Connie Head, Dan Hood, Mark Marino, Diana Matthews, Marian Smith, Mem Stahley, Patricia Profeta, Dixie Yeager, Robbie Allen

Author/Creator (Digital Rights Manager) Details

englishd@lscc.edu, nance.lempinen-leedy@sfcollege.edu, acarlson@irsc.edu, barbier.pat@spcollege.edu, christine.boatright@fgc.edu, chead@gulfcoast.edu, dhood@irsc.edu, marinom@scf.edu, diana.matthews@sfcollege.edu, smithmar@cf.edu, stahleym@brevardcc.edu, pprofeta@irsc.edu, dixieyeager@sjrstate.edu, robbieallen@sjrstate.edu

Keywords

information literacy, research, database, catalog, Internet, thesis, citation, resources, plagiarism, copyright, information ethics, search string, keywords, Boolean logic, electronic, print, library, librarians, search strategy

Language

en-US

Requirement Type

internet access, web browser, word processing application, software capable of opening .pptx files

Interactivity type

Active, Expositive

Learning resource type

Course, lesson, Lesson Plan, Template

Educational context

Community College

Typical learning time

15:00:00

Has costs

No

Educational description

This is a complete course including readings, discussion questions, exercises, an exam, and a project. The entire course can be utilized by institutions offering LIS1000 as a 1 credit hour course. Components of the course could be utilized for information literacy modules.

ERIC Thesaurus Terms

Information Services, Web Sites, Copyrights, Information Retrieval, Information Science, Intellectual Property, Access to Information, Libraries, Knowledge Management, Search Engines, Information Needs, Web Browsers, Information Sources, Online Searching, Library Materials, Search Strategies, Information Skills, Academic Libraries, Online Catalogs, Data…

FL Statewide Course Numbers (Higher Ed)

LIS1000 - GENERAL LIBRARY USE

Rights statement

This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License. To view a copy of this license, visit http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/us/ or send a letter to Creative Commons, 444 Castro Street, Suite 900, Mountain View, California, 94041, USA.

Installation Remarks

The course is in .zip format. The user will need to have a program to unzip the files. FYI: Most Course Management Systems support importing .zip files and should do so without issues. If problems do occur, please contact your IT staff.

Links to resources


Details


Actions